What´s my motherf*cking name?

February 12, 2007 at 6:27 am 1 comment

One of the big problems I have when travelling is my name. This could sound weird, but it is. My real name is Juan Francisco Diez Morel, that´s two first names and two last names, one is my dad´s surname and the second one is my mother´s surname. Unlike other countries, in Chile everybody gets to keep it´s surnames when they get married, and that is why we get two different surnames, unless your parents are both brothers, which would be quite sick. Now the second deal is that Juan usually is not used alone, is used as a prefix for a second name, in this case Francisco, this is what they call a composed name. When I present myself in the United States, I just use my first name to make things simple, although I hate to use it in Chile, because it´s just like Joe, average Joe, a real common name. Anyways Juan, or Huaan like it sounds when an american or british says it, will do the trick.

BTW my friend Scott from MaximoPC has three names, one he uses in Taiwan (where he was borned), one for Argentina (Patricio) and Scott for the american folks. Now that is weird 😀

Entry filed under: Personal.

2006 Travelling New build

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


LinkedIn

View Juan Francisco Diez's profile on LinkedIn

Fast Delivery: Full RSS Feed

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

