Massive migration :D

May 7, 2007 at 8:05 pm 3 comments

We are finally moving our two main websites to new servers that will assure a great uptime and a pleasant navigation for both Chilean readers and international readers.

TecnoSquad is now hosted in MediaTemple. We signed for a Grid Server, this is basicly time share in a big cluster server. If you use more than that you can move to another plan. Up to now it has worked great, and the traffic already had a really impressive boost. Let´s see if at the end of this month we have some surprises 😀

On the other side, ChileHardware is being moved right now – it should be finished by tomorrow – to The Planet. We rented a dedicated Xeon 3060 with 4GB RAM and 4x250GB SATA disks in RAID 10 (basicly two RAID 0 in RAID 1 configuration, for fast writing speed and redundancy).

¿Why not have both websites in the same server? Even thought I think the server we rented in The Planet is capable of running both sites in the short term, this wouldn´t be too intelligent. Having them in two different machines, and even more in two different providers, diversifies risk.

I´m very happy with this, let´s hope everything goes fine, and our international readers can enjoy our content  just like in  big english-written websites.

Entry filed under: Dot Com Biz.

Hardware Reviews… I owe me an apology

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. AnitoKid  |  May 15, 2007 at 2:01 am

    Hi friend! I’m participating in the MyBlogLog Community Outreach Train. I just linked you in my post and joined your MyBlogLog community. Hope you link me in your post and join my community. The link can be found at: http://anitokid.blogspot.com/2007/05/get-on-train-mybloglog-train.html. Mabuhay! http://www.anitokid.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 2. Rory  |  May 16, 2007 at 12:08 am

    Heya JF
    I think the move to a double server, is playing things pretty safe.
    Better safe than sorry, incase by some chance that one server goes down and least the other is still making money 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. franciscodiez  |  May 16, 2007 at 12:10 am

    Well Rory I´m really not into CPC or CPM, I just do fixed time contracts on direct sales. I don´t do CPC because it doesn´t work good for spanish sites, besides they pay horrible for spanish written sites.

    So basicly if my site goes down, I shouldn´t really care. But I do care. Because readers care. And readers are my sales 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


LinkedIn

View Juan Francisco Diez's profile on LinkedIn

Fast Delivery: Full RSS Feed

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr

Beijing 2013

Beijing 2013

Beijing 2013

Beijing 2013

Beijing 2013

More Photos

