Finally building my new setup

June 20, 2007 at 1:51 am 5 comments

For a while I´ve had a thought in my head, I definitely need a new computer. My laptop is broke and I´m using my test rig as my personal computer, and that´s definitely not the idea. Now here is the deal, my studio is just a door from my room, what I´m planning is building a really small setup for my room, this will be my daily driver. My testing rig, will be left at the studio where I plan to do all the benching and reviews.

I will be building a small computer coupled with a pair of LCD screens. I have already all the parts ready, but I won´t use the Biostar motherboard I´ve been using in the past, I´ll use a microATX motherboard and install it in a small form factor case. ECS will supply me with a G33 based motherboard, that is their newest IGP motherboard they have. I don´t plan using the integrated graphics, so I´ll install a new videocard, that shouldn´t be much of a deal. On the case, I chose the Thermaltake LanBox Lite, as soon as the motherboard arrives (it should arrive this week) I´ll go buy it.

lanbox.gif

The only thing I still don´t know is what monitors I will buy. I know I want a pair of 19 inch screens, but still not sure if going widescreen or 4:3, I think 4:3 is the way to go on dual screen, what would you choose?

Entry filed under: Personal, Tech.

Winter Vacations Motherboard is in the house

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. AlCapone  |  June 20, 2007 at 2:47 am

    Go for the LG 19” Wide L194WT that i recently bought!
    It’s quite slime, graphics are gorgeous and it isn’t too expensive…

    Your blog is every time better… Greetings!

    Reply
  • 2. BLASTER  |  June 21, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    2x 4:3 19″

    Reply
  • 3. Bob Buskirk  |  June 22, 2007 at 4:28 am

    go for the widescreen, I don’t know many people that are still on 4:3 setups

    Reply
  • […] 2007 The motherboard I will be using in my new setup has arrived. What´s not so cool is that the case I was looking for, is out of stock, the only one available has a window, and I don´t want to buy the one with the […]

    Reply
  • 5. franciscodiez  |  June 23, 2007 at 5:42 am

    Mmm… then widescreen will be I suppose.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


LinkedIn

View Juan Francisco Diez's profile on LinkedIn

Fast Delivery: Full RSS Feed

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr

Beijing 2013

Beijing 2013

Beijing 2013

Beijing 2013

Beijing 2013

More Photos

